Manicure Monday

ManicureMonday_14-2

New style!

Okay, so I have a late Christmas party next week (my job’s Christmas parties are always in January).  So, I still wanted to do something that would be a bit festive but not too obvious since I have a full week to go before that party.

So I decided to try to do chevron this time.  At first, I wanted to do it on every nails, but after trying out one finger and screwing it up and seeing that it’s not the easiest thing to do (when you don’t have the professional accessories), I decided to start with only one finger.

ManicureMonday_14-3

As a base color I’ve put 2 coats of Sally Hansen 470 Black Tie, which is a blueish black with green and pink iridescent depending on the angle you’re looking at it.  The first coat is pretty see-through, but when you put the second coat it becomes very opaque.  I really love that polish because it’s not too black but just enough so it looks sophisticated (I find).

Then I’ve put my Sally Hansen Insta-dri top coat on all nails (even the ring finger) so it dries faster.  After a while, I’ve put my cut-out chevron stencil made with clear tape, and then I’ve put 3 coats of Sephora by OPI Keep Me On My Mistletoes nail polish (that I received for Christmas in a kit with 7 other nail polishes) – ho forgot to say that I’ve also put my Sally Hansen base coat.  And, to seal everything and make it dry faster, I’ve put my Drying Drops from Nicolas by OPI (I tell you, really, the most awesome thing on earth).

ManicureMonday_14

So, the result is not a perfect chevron but I still like how it looks!  AND because of the gold I find that it still gives a subtle holiday look to my nails.

 

Do you have any chevron techniques other than mine to share?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Manicure Monday

Let's discuss...

