Manicure Monday

Happy (late) Monday everyone!

Ok, I’ve been really really REALLY bad in being consistent with my blog here and I want to apologize.  I’m really gonna try to get back to it more often.

So, now off to my manicure of the week!

Image

I’ve been loving gradient nails these past weeks and tried once or twice, but never posted anything so, this time I decided to do one for you!

I’ve seen this style somewhere on the internet (sorry I don’t have the source…) and I really wanted to recreate it.

But first thing first; I’ve put my OPI base coat, then two coats of OPI Alpine Snow, which is just a plain white polish.  When doing gradient nails, you always want to put a white “base coat” before your put the color, so the gradient will be more vibrant (from my personal experience…).

Image

Then, you have to wait for your nails to dry quite completely. Afterwards, on a makeup sponge that I have cut into little pieces, you put a strip of the color that will go closer to the base of your nail at the tip of the sponge (mine was OPI Mod About You), and then you put another strip of the other color just below (I’ve put Sally Hansen Blue-Away). At this point, it is very important not to put too much polish on your sponge or else when you’ll dab it on the white it will come off (which you don’t want).

Image

So like I said, you dab the sponge lightly on your nail making sure your blend well the two colors.  I did 2 coats of the gradient colors (I think you could even do 3 coats, but wait in between the second and third coat to dry).  If you dab too much, then you’ll have pieces of the sponge sticking on your nail (which you don’t want either).

After my nails have dried a bit, I’ve put my Sally Hansen Diamond top coat.

Now you ask me “how do I get rid of the nail polish that goes on the edges of my nails when I dab the sponge?”: before putting my top coat, I take a small (very small) makeup brush and with polish remover, I clean the contours of my nails.  I’ve also seen people putting scotch tape around their nails so there would be less polish to clean afterwards (I will try next time).

Voilà!

Image

I know my description might not be very clear, so, let me know if you would like me to do a little step by step gradient nail post and I’ll do it!

2 thoughts on “Manicure Monday

  1. This is such a beautiful look! I love almost all gradient looks, but this blue and pink combo is one of the prettiest I have seen 🙂

    You could also use a cotton bud dipped in nail polish remover to clean up. Definitely try the sticky tape on your fingers though, so much easier!

    1. Yes, I saw this look on the web once and couldn’t stop thinking about it! As for to remove the polish, I took a tiny brush to go more easily around the edges of my nails (I have quite small fingers) 😉 BUT will definitely be trying with tape next time!

Let's discuss...

